Remembering an Extraordinary Friend

A week ago I had a totally unexpected phone call. My friend Connie called to tell me that our dear friend Sarah had suddenly passed away. I did not know what to do or say. I mean, we had plans. We had so many things that we still wanted to do together. There were the plans to help someone learn how to drive, organize an art afternoon with some friends before I go back to work, figure out a way to get a new bed for a different friend, and so many other things.

sarah with flowers

Sarah was a teacher, a mother, a friend, a colleague, art therapist, Stephen minister, small group leader, confidant, American-Mom to many, intercessor, outgoing, talkative, joyful, colorful, (and lover of color), easy to approach, my birthday double ( I will miss celebrating our birthdays together), and really, Sarah never met anyone she could not talk to. I have been comforted by reading the comments that people from all over the world have left on Sarah’s Facebook page. She left a mark on so many lives.

sarah in a canoe

Sarah did not act her age (she was 72). She loved nature and outdoors as much as she loved having people over at her house. It might have been an art class, small group meeting or a mystery dinner. There was always something special about going to Sarah’s house. She loved diversity and it showed in the people that you would meet at her house or the food that you would get to taste there. I always left Sarah’s house feeling better that what I felt when I arrived!

Sarah, I will miss you terribly, but I also know that you are now crafting some new heavenly art that will most likely have even more colors than you could have ever imagined here on earth!

Sarah close up

Remembering my friend with photos courtesy of Sarah’s Facebook.

 

7 thoughts on “Remembering an Extraordinary Friend

  1. I’m sorry for your loss, Jaana for this dear, dear friend. You’ve written so lovingly about her that I imagine she’s smiling right now and missing all of you. Friendship is so important for everyone that when we lose someone, it’s so hard. Hugs to you and all the friends who loved her.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So sorry for your loss. I lost a friend suddenly a few weeks ago, and I was glad I had the space of a blog to write about her. Somehow I felt better honoring her with writing since she was also a writer. You have wonderful memories and I’m sure the loss leaves a small whole. Blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A lovely tribute to a lovely person. My prayers and thoughts are with you. Special friends are just that – Special and I know Sarah will be greatly missed by many. Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

